Thoughts at the Dentist’s

old-1620082_640

I lost a tooth today

a new empty space on the right

joining on the left the older empty

spaces of three. On this day too

John McCain was buried

Trump made a deal with Mexico

excluded Canada at the table

while I, I’ve lost a tooth today.

 

A dentist pried poked drilled

twisted yanked and swore

while I retreated in the chair.

For a tooth so full of decay

it certainly protested there.

What do X-rays know anyhow?

Sometimes a shadow is only a shadow

but I lost a tooth today.

 

Somewhere at this very moment

a village eats bowls of rice.

Somewhere a woman engraves

on her shoulder a rose tattoo for a man.

Somewhere a baby boy bathes

in a kitchen sink or sponging from a pail,

a soldier raises a rifle in battle bliss,

and I, I lost a tooth today.

Significant to me, my mouth, alone.

 

Or, in this spiraling universe

in which we live,

perhaps thousands of others around

the globe sit in dental offices,

perhaps thousands of others

they too have lost a tooth today.

What if we are infinitely connected?

I wish you well, all peoples of the earth.

 

I wish you peace in your back yards

I wish you happiness at your kitchen tables

I wish you prosperity with the bills in your pockets

And may you all lie in your caskets

With all your teeth intact.

 

(photo from Pixabay)

 

Leave a comment